happy to be me

Switching to Cow’s Milk

Kyler didn’t want cows milk whatsoever! Maybe because breast milk is so sweet the cows couldn’t compare.

At Kyler’s 12 month check-up the pediatrician informed me that I could be Nesquik strawberry or chocolate powder into the milk.

Well, he didn’t like the strawberry at all either! I was a scardy cat and wasn’t quite ready to give him chocolate so kept trying the strawberry and plain every so often. Well a week went by and he still wouldn’t take it…

I tried the chocolate and it worked! I only added a tiny bit, it was barely discolored and he loved the milk.

Now he will drink the milk without chocolate and I’m only feeding him my milk at bed time… I still need to get out of doing this but it’s the only way to put him to sleep happy right now.

If you have an suggestions please feel free to help! 🙂

There is a great section on weaning at http://www.babycenter.com/weaning-from-breastfeeding.

Comments on: "Switching to Cow’s Milk" (1)

  1. Sounds like your little guy is quite the happy camper! Nursing and chocolate milk all in one day. 🙂 I think you’re doing a great job. He’s a year old, and you’re still nursing? That’s great. You’ve given him such a great bonus.

    I don’t have any advice. I think nursing is such a personal thing, and nobody knows better than the mom what her baby needs. Well, I guess I do have one piece of advice: trust your instincts! If you can get your son to sleep with nursing, and you’re both happy doing it, then go for it. You’ll know when he’s ready to wean.

    And in another year, this decision will seem like ancient history! My kids are 3 and 5, and our days of nursing are long covered over with new memories. I’m so glad I did it, but it’s great to be on to new phases now, with each of them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

