happy to be me

So the lovely husband and I decided that we needed a garden out front despite the fact that he says flowers come to our house to die since I have a black thumb! Or whatever the opposite of a green thumb is…

We have a huge creek close to the house called dry creek because there is rarely any water and is mostly rocks.

We took the toddler down and picked out rocks of all shapes and sizes.

My son and I played in the yard while my husband put the rock garden up very quickly!

It came out great, it’s a lot better than not having one and I love going in and out of the house seeing the flowers.

A part on the big garden is a little dipped down so needs a few more rocks but other than that it was a quick in project!

20120702-115016.jpg

We want to our closest home depot in Fairbanks, AK and purchased soil and flowers.

There weren’t too many options for flowers that didn’t need much sunlight which is what we need for this location but that’s ok because we’re pleased with the outcome.

20120702-115223.jpg

Daddy and toddler road around on the four wheeler while I planted our flowers as quick as possible because rain was about to come!

Our toddler loves the flowers and watching the bugs that come around them.

This was a great family project that we all had a lot of fun with… Who said yard work couldn’t be fun? 🙂

Comments on: "Our family rock garden" (1)

  1. Sounds good. I hope the flowers survive your black thumb and continue to brighten your property. I think my wife and I need to find these flowers – we are fellow black thumbers.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

